"That you may ruminate"

…On Fire and Ice.

Posted by Steve on March 1, 2009

To hell with the Robert Frost poem, I’ve found something far more interesting: making fire from ice.

There’s a story behind this, that begins with me wondering how I can learn to make a bow and arrows by hand. This lead to me finding out about PaleoPlanet, where someone posted an illustrated message about making fire with lenses carved from ice. A quick search on Google turned up an even more comprehensive source, as Wildwood Survival has a multi-author, multi-part guide to the process.

An upside to being temporarily unemployed? Once it quits raining on… Tuesday… I’ll be able to try this out with all my free time!

Leave a Reply

 
