"That you may ruminate"

…On Constitutions – a Challenge and a Request.

Posted by Steve on February 23, 2009

In reading many politics, law, and policy-oriented blogs, I’ve encountered many variations on the theme of “we don’t amend our Constitution very often, and we shouldn’t amend it very often.” Personally, I disagree. Even the parts I like and agree with 100% (fewer than even my friends are aware of), I think just as a matter of routine maintenance should have been replaced with modernized language by now. As to the parts I disagree with and the parts I think are missing, well, if I were to draft a new Constitution for the United States of America, some things would be wildly different (“Each House may determine the rules of its proceedings and of the conduct of duels…”).

But then, why should I be the only one getting to specify what they think the Constitution should be? After all, many people have blogs devoted to matters of law, policy, and politics (whereas this blog is devoted to whatever can keep my attention long enough for me to finish a post), with an assortment of commenters, which to me indicates many people care about such things. So, to you people with your own blogs: your task, should you choose to accept it, is to draft a new Constitution for the United States. Write it, post it, let me know about it. I’m going to make a collection of people’s 2009 Constitutions for the United States of America. The only rules are that your Constitution be complete and that it reflect your vision of the ideal United States of America. Whether the rest of America will go along with it doesn’t matter.

I realize this could be time-consuming, but what better way to express your political values and ideals in the detail that will ensure they’re understood accurately?

I’ll be posting my own once I’m done with it. Hopefully, I’ll have many others to share.

One Response to “…On Constitutions – a Challenge and a Request.”

  1. […] …On Constitutions – a Challenge and a Request. « “That you may … […]

Leave a Reply

 
