"That you may ruminate"

…On Bread.

Posted by Steve on September 9, 2008

Several years ago, at my apartment in Tennessee, I made a startling and unnerving discovery: bread left in my cabinets for several months wasn’t molding. In fact, several partial loaves of bread left in my cabinet didn’t mold over a period of months in which I kept forgetting I already had bread and buying new bread. When I finally took all the bread out of my cabinet, I had parts of I think 5 loaves, some 3 months old, and no mold.

Well, last night, a loaf of generic supermarket-brand bread from the same chain turned out to be moldy after only two weeks. So I can now say with confidence that Kroger-brand bread is not so chock full of preservatives that it’ll never mold.

Leave a Reply

 
